How Does Filing an Accident Report Affect my Car Accident Case?
An Accident Report Contains Critical Evidence in a Personal Injury Claim
After an accident, it’s normal that there’s a lot going through your mind – especially if you have sustained significant bodily injury. In order to move forward after a car accident, you need to start with one critical document: the accident report. For those that could use a breakdown of what to do after an accident in the state of Colorado, let McDivitt Law Firm answer many of the questions drivers have after being involved in an accident.
Do I have to stop after a car accident?
Yes. Colorado law states that all drivers must stop and remain at the scene of an accident, even in minor rear-end collisions. You must also report the accident to the police as soon as possible.
How long do I have to file an accident report in Colorado?
In the state of Colorado, you have 60 days to report an accident. You can do this through the Colorado DMV’s online crash reporting system that will log the information, but it will not be investigated by authorities. However, in order to file an accident report online, the accident must meet the following:
- No fatality or injury requiring medical attention was sustained by any person(s) involved in the accident, and;
- The accident is not an alleged hit and run or it is an alleged hit and run, and there is no information on the other driver involved in the accident, and;
- The accident does not involve damage to any public property other than wildlife, and:
- No drivers involved in the accident are suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
What do I need to include in an accident report?
- Time, date, and location of the accident
- An affirmation that the damage is less than $1,000
- Whether or not private property was damaged
- Your personal information
- The other driver’s personal information
- Vehicle type
- Whether or not you have insurance
- A personal statement about the accident
How can filing an accident report affect my insurance claim?
If you don’t file an accident report to include vehicle damage or personal injury, you won’t be able to receive compensation. Also, insurance policies have a notification clause which means you have to inform them of your involvement in an accident. Also, an accident report can support your claim to compensation for another’s negligence.
Do I need a lawyer to file an accident report?
No, you do not. However, if an insurance company refuses to cooperate or denies your claim, you should contact a personal injury attorney.
How is a driver determined to be “at fault” in an accident report?
Colorado is an “at fault” state. In order to determine who is at fault, you will need an accident report, pictures of the scene of the accident, eyewitness testimony, and, in some cases, an accident recreation. If you’re unsure of who is at fault, contact a personal injury attorney and they will help examine your accident and work towards getting you the best compensation possible for your injuries.
McDivitt Law Firm – Colorado Car Accident Attorneys & Personal Injury Attorneys
If you’ve been injured in an accident, contact law enforcement immediately to file an accident report. Next, contact McDivitt Law Firm to get the best legal representation on your side in order to get the compensation you deserve.
McDivitt Law Firm has been helping injured workers, drivers, passengers and pedestrians for 40 years. Our team of affordable Colorado attorneys understands what details are important and required in order to make your case – and that starts by filing an accident report.Back to the Blog